Pelvis | Definition, Synonyms, Functions & Anatomy


The pelvis is the part of our body. Its bones are a significant component of the middle section of the framework. They work as an alteration from the axial skeleton and the appendicular skeleton of the lower body.

Also, it acts as a connection point for the strongest muscles in the human body and withstands the forces generated by them.


The pelvis is the part below the abdomen that is among the hip’s bones. It contains the bladder and rectum.


This word originates from Latin which factually means Basin or Bucket.


  • Ischium
  • Pelvic girdle
  • Pubic bone
  • Hip joint
  • Articulatio coxae
  • Ischial bone
  • Sacrum
  • Appendicular skeleton


It assists us in movement and weight transmission. It provides the regions for the attachments of the muscles and protects the pelvic viscera. This plays an essential role in parturition. It gives support to the:

  • Intestines
  • Urinary bladder
  • Abdominal organs
  • Internal sex organs

Anatomy of Pelvis

It is composed of:

  • Pelvic bone
  • Pelvic cavity
  • Pelvic floor
  • Perineum

Pelvic Bone:

The skeleton of the pelvis is made of three bones which are:

  • Hip bone
  • Sacrum
  • Coccyx

All of these bones attach the axial skeleton to the lower parts. Therefore, these bones cooperate in bearing the weight of the upper body. Also, they work as attachments for a lot of muscles and ligaments in the pelvis and lower limbs.

Hip Bone:

Each hip bone has three sections which are:

  • Ilium
  • Ischium
  • Pubis

These sections of the hip bones are split bones in babyhood which are joined by the triradiate cartilage. These sections combine to make a single bone during the teenage years.

Pelvic Cavity:

This cavity is a body cavity surrounded by the bones of the pelvis. It has reproductive organs and the rectum. The difference between the lesser pelvis is lower to the terminal line and the greater pelvis over it. The pelvic inlet which leads into the lesser pelvis is surrounded by:

  • Promontory
  • Arcuate line of ilium
  • Iliopubic eminence,
  • Pecten of the public
  • The upper part of the pubic symphysis

The pelvic outlet is the region among:

  • Pubic arch
  • Ischial tuberosities
  • Coccyx

Pelvic floor:

It is also known as the pelvic diaphragm is an anatomical position in the body of a human. It has an essential role in urinary and anal continence and sexual functions. Also, it supports the pelvic organs.

The pelvic floor has muscles, both skeletal and smooth, ligaments, and fascia. It separates the pelvic cavity from above and the perineum from below. It is created by the levator ani muscle coccygeus muscle and associated connective tissue. The pelvic floor has two hiatuses which are:

Urogenital hiatus: It is a gap through which the urethra and vagina pass.

Rectal hiatus: It is a gap through which the anal canal passes.


It is the small area of sensitive skin between the vaginal opening and the anus. Also, it is the lower area of the pelvic cavity. It may refer to only the part of our body that we can see. Also, it refers to the structures inside the body under the pelvic floor.

Male Pelvis

It is the inferior part of the abdomen/belly that is among the hip bones in a male. The male pelvis is strong, narrower, and taller than the female pelvis. The angle of the male pubic arch and the sacrum are also narrower.

Female Pelvis

It is the ring of bones among the hips where many organs and structures are situated in the females. The female pelvic area includes:

  • Fallopian tubes
  • Ovaries
  • Uterus
  • Cervix
  • Bladder
  • Urethra
  • Pelvic floor muscles
  • Clitoris
  • Vagina
  • Rectum

Pelvis Disorders

  • Uterine prolapse
  • Incontinence
  • Overactive bladder
  • Uterine fibroids
  • Ovarian cysts
  • Endometriosis
  • Dysmenorrhea
  • Cervical cancer
  • Ovarian cancer
  • Pelvic pain

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

Name of the 4 joints in the pelvis.

  1. Pubic symphysis joint
  2. Lumbosacral joint
  3. Sacroiliac joint
  4. Sacrococcygeal joint

Which of the ligaments are in the pelvis?

  • Sacrotuberous ligament
  • Sacrospinous ligament
  • Iliolumbar ligament

Which of the pelvis is in heart shape?

Android pelvis has a heart shape.

Mention the four types of the pelvis.

  • Gynecoid
  • Android
  • Anthropoid
  • Platypelloid

More Related:

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *